Indian Baja 2018 – TVS Racing’s Lorenzo Santolino bags the win

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on pocket
Indian Baja 2018 - TVS Racing's Lorenzo Santolino bags the win

Indian Baja 2018 came to a beautiful finish on 19th August in Jaisalmer, Rajasthan. TVS Racing’s Lorenzo Santolino won the moto category with a final time of 3:38:46s in Group A. This was followed by Hero MotoSports’ CS Santosh with a time of 4:03:18s. The third place was also bagged by TVS Racing’s Abdul Tanveer with a time of 4:18:10s.

TVS Racing’s Imran Pasha also bagged the top spot in Group B (up to 450cc). In the final part of the rally, the riders passed through Majid ki Basti, Asutar, and Mangalia regions of Thar Desert, covering a distance of 135 kilometers. In the Xtreme category, Arindam Saikia (Co-driver Jeevarathinam J) won the first place with a time of 5: 08:48s

SUBSCRIBE WheelBHP YouTube Channel

Indian Baja 2018 - TVS Racing's Lorenzo Santolino bags the win

Lorenzo Santolino speaking of his win said, “This is a special win for me as it was my second outing in Thar Desert post-Desert Storm. It was good to be able to leverage learnings from my training and the bike supported me through the Rally. I also want to thank my team-mates and the technical crew of TVS Racing for their support through India Baja and look forward to my next outing.”

CS Santosh of Hero MotoSports Team was quoted saying, “I am glad to cross the finish line of India Baja to be on the podium after a tough race with great competition and challenging weather conditions. This is the first race on home soil where I am walking away healthy in the past three years and that is a big positive I take forward going into the final months before Dakar.”

Indian Baja 2018 - TVS Racing's Lorenzo Santolino bags the win

About Indian Baja:

Indian Baja started in India in 2017 as “Dakar Challenge Rally”. It then evolved to be known now as Indian Baja. It is the official Indian franchise of the international Dakar Rally. The Indian Baja 2018 took place from 17-19 August 2018 in Jaisalmer, Rajasthan. The rally consists of over 400kms of extremely harsh terrain. The riders will have to bear the scorching heat, perilous dunes, and fast technical gravel straights. The winner of Indian Baja gets a free entry to the Dakar Rally 2020 and the Merzouga Rally in Morocco. All podium winners will also get a free entry into the Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm.

follow us on facebook @WheelBHP and on twitter @WheelBHP 

Subscribe to our Youtube Channel


Amith Gowda

Amith Gowda

Leave a Reply Now

Sign up for our Newsletter