World Car Awards for 2019 announced

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on pocket

The World Car Awards (WCA) is a program initiated by, organized by, and conducted by automotive journalists from all over the world. The awards program was officially launched in 2004 and has been running annually ever since. These awards are the Oscars of the Automotive world and are considered very prestigious.

The New York International Auto Show played the host to the Grand Finale of the 2019 World Car Awards Program. The winners are announced in the following categories World Car of the Year, World Urban Car, World Luxury Car, World Performance Car, World Green Car and, World Car Design of the Year.

SUBSCRIBE WheelBHP YouTube Channel

The awards for 2019 have been announced and an all-electric car has won not one, but 3 of these awards. No, not the Tesla. It’s a Jaguar. Jaguar’s I-Pace has won the 3 awards, World Car of the Year, World Green Car, and World Car Design of the Year. It is the first ever car to have swept 3 categories at the awards. The Jaguar has already won 60+ international awards from various industry groups and media houses.

Jaguar I-Pace
Jaguar I-Pace

The I-Pace has a range of 467 Kms (WLTP rated) from its lithium-ion pouch cells. The Euro NCAP has awarded the car with a 5-star safety rating. A few components of the electric drivetrain technology was derived out of Jaguar’s Formula-E race car.

Prof. Dr. Ralf Speth, Chief Executive Officer, Jaguar Land Rover, said: “It is an honor that the Jaguar IPACE has received such an accolade from the prestigious World Car jurors.”

2019 World Urban Car

Suzuki’s Jimny has won the 2019 World Urban Car. The Jimny is an off-roading SUV made by Suzuki since 1970. Despite being in production for such a long time, the Jimny only entered into the 4th generation in 2018. The 2nd Generation Jimny was sold as Maruti Gypsy in India till 2019.


A Suzuki car has been a “Top Three in the World” finalist in the World Urban Car category for three consecutive years. This year, the Jimny was also a top-three finalist in the World Car Design of the Year category.

Toshihiro Suzuki, Representative Director and President of Suzuki Motor Corporation said, “We at Suzuki are greatly honored to receive this award. The Jimny is the one-and-only, compact, authentic offroader, and we have kept true to this concept for almost 50 years. It now has many fans around the world, who enjoy its excellent performance and one-of-a-kind functional design, both on and off-road. We accept this award on behalf of our fans, as well as with pride and confidence in our passion to build exciting cars to be the foot of our customers’ everyday lives.”

2019 World Luxury Car

Audi’s A7 has won the 2019 World Luxury Car of the year award. This is Audi’s second consecutive win this category. Last year, it was the Audi A8. The A7 is a Sportback and has been in production since 2010. In the award’s 15 year history, Audi has won 10 times, making it the manufacturer with the Most World Car Awards win.

Audi A7
Audi A7

“It is a great honor for Audi to win the ‘World Luxury Car’ award twice in a row,” says Hans-Joachim Rothenpieler, Member of the Board of Management of AUDI AG Technical Development. “We are very proud of this award because it shows Audi’s ability to develop leading premium cars in various segments.”

The A7 gets the power from a 3-liter, six-cylinder petrol engine making 335 horses and 500 Nm of twist. It is currently in its second generation.

2019 World Performance Car

It’s British again. The McLaren 720s has won the World Performance Car award. The 720s was launched in 2017 Geneva Motor show and is the second car in the McLaren Super Series. The 720s is built on a Carbon Monocoque which is stiffer than the one used in the 650s, the model which it replaces.


The engine is 4-liter twin-turbo V8, putting 710 horses under your right foot and about 770 Nm of torque. The 720s can accelerate from naught to 100 Km/h in 2.9 seconds. 0-200 comes in about 7.8 seconds and the 720s will accelerate all the way up to 341 Km/h.

“We feel grateful anytime one of our cars wins an award, but to have the 720S named World Performance Car is particularly special,” said Mike Flewitt, CEO, McLaren Automotive. “We believe the 720S is a revolutionary step forward for both McLaren, as well as the supercar segment, and to have it recognized in this way by an organization made up of the most esteemed media across the globe is a great honor.”

Follow us on facebook @WheelBHP and on twitter @WheelBHP 

Subscribe to our Youtube Channel
Tango Sierra

Tango Sierra

Leave a Reply Now

Sign up for our Newsletter